Weblocal.ca

Search

business name, category, key word, etc.
Locations region, city or postal code for better results
No recent locations
Find local businesses, rate your experiences, and share with the community
Love It Hate It
1 0
popup tail
4.5 stars 13 reviews

Bay Street Video

« Back

Bay
Toronto, ON  M5S 2B4

(416) 964-9088

Get Directions
Start from:

What the community has to say about Bay Street Video

Information from the business
English
March 10, 2014

Specialties

Bay Street Video is where you will find Toronto's Largest Collection of DVD and Blu-ray all under one roof. We stock tens-of-thousands of video titles available for sale and rent.

Toronto's #1 destination video specialty store! Come see for yourself where people in the film industry and film aficionados love to frequent.

Whether you are looking to buy or rent the most popular... more

Brought to you by yelp

Got something to say?
Be the first Weblocal.ca user to review Bay Street Video
Other Reviews from the web
English
4.5 star rating
January 09, 2014

Bay Street Video is an AWESOME old school video store, exactly the way it should be! Brought back fond memories of when I worked at a store just like this (What A Video on Yonge St, back in the day!). Went there for the first time a few weeks ago to get a VHS transferred to DVD. Was ready within a couple of days.

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
February 23, 2012

More movies than I could ever possibly watch. I am not a movie nut, but know many and they all love this place. Definintely not your local video store -this place has everything ever made if it is available and you want to rent -they have it, want to buy -can do that too. Biggest problem for me is too much selection. Go figure!

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
February 21, 2012

Ever since I found this place I haven't set foot in a Roger's Video. The staff here is always helpful and their movie selection is phenomenal -- even if you're looking for obscure foreign language cinema. I've come across many a film recommended by friends abroad that certainly seemed like impossible finds. I shall never doubt Bay St. Video again!

My favourite thing about this video store is... more

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
October 29, 2011

Great video rentals - they have everything. I also like how it is a small store and they make great use of their space. They also have lots and lots of older movies and have upgraded older releases to blu-ray.

Two issues: I agree, sometimes the staff can be rather cranky. It seems to be hit and miss whenever I go. Also, they never have new-releases in. I think it is they serve the general... more

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
August 29, 2011

Hello selection!!! Ok this place is a bit overwhelming for a 1-2 movies a month girl like myself but I love knowing that if I do want to see a movie, no matter how obscure, it'll be here.

Usually I come w a title in mind and ask them to help me find it.

I also like that they have cheaper rates for multiple rentals and a loyalty card so I'm rewarded for renting more. :)

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
December 28, 2010

Bay Street Video is fantastic. The staff are knowledgeable, helpful, and kind. And, of course, the selection of movies is excellent.

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
December 05, 2010

I've been to this place a couple of times and found the staff to be really rude. The clerks seem really unhappy to be there and they anxiously wait to close up.
They do have a good selection of titles, but Queen Street Video is much better for rentals and Amazon for buying.

This is the type of place that you should buy from only if they have a bankruptcy sale. It would be worth it then.

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
November 24, 2010

Bay Street Video, oh how I love thee, let me count the ways...
1) your video selection. You have everything neatly arranged and easy to find. I love that I can ask if you have something, and you say "YES" every time!
2) the little red velcro tabs on your videos to let me know what is available. This is uber 80's VHS rental throw back and I LOVE IT!!!
3) your staff! Super helpful, super... more

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
October 31, 2010

I like this place for so many reasons!

1. Generally have stuff that's hard to find. (best selection)
2. The employees are engaging, nice and knowledgeable.
3. I can see if they have something on-line.
4. When I call they can look something up in mere seconds.
5. Located right next to a Horton's!

While the selection is great, it's really not a place to browse, per se, you really need to know... more

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
July 18, 2010

Dude! Movie nirvana! If the movie isn't here, it doesn't exist. Bay Street Video has one of the largest collections I've seen at any video rental place. Not only is the selection massive and well-organized, you can tell that the owners and staff are truly passionate about movies. They know their stuff, are happy working there, and happy to help with any questions. Best yet, the Blu-Ray... more

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
April 15, 2010

There's a reason why people keep saying this is the best video store in Toronto. Their selection is untouchable. Whenever I would have a hard time finding some obscure movie I would always end up finding it here. Though I have to admit they didn't have Black Dynamite on Blu-Ray.

I don't like their new location as much as the old place. Granted the old place was very small, but there's no... more

Brought to you by yelp

4.5 star rating
March 17, 2010

I was only in here for a quick in and out looking for the Criterion Collection edition of In the Mood of Love for a friend of mine.

To be honest, I hadn't really been trying hard to find it. I'd just occasionally walk into a Sunrise or whatever movie store I might come across in my travels to see if it was there. Happened to be around Bay that day and remembered that this place existed.

I was... more

Brought to you by yelp

December 19, 2009

Huge selection of movies to rent. they carry Blu Rays as well. 1080p!

Brought to you by canpages

4.5 star rating
October 31, 2009

When I lived in New York, there was an indie video store near where I lived. And half of the "charm" of the place was that the staff all had poles stuck up their... If you dared to rent a mainstream video, you'd get some really nasty stares. But I'd brave this for their selection.

So I breathed a huge sigh of relief when I found Bay Street right around the corner from my place when I lived in... more

Brought to you by yelp

All Rights Reserved © 2008-2020 Weblocal.ca