Weblocal.ca

Search

business name, category, key word, etc.
Locations region, city or postal code for better results
No recent locations
Find local businesses, rate your experiences, and share with the community
Love It Hate It
0 0
popup tail
4.5 stars 50 reviews

Citadel Theatre

« Back

9828 101A Ave NW
Edmonton, AB  T5J 3C6

(780) 426-4811

Get Directions
Start from:

What the community has to say about Citadel Theatre

Got something to say?
Be the first Weblocal.ca user to review Citadel Theatre
Other Reviews from the web
English
4.5 star rating
Mary Poppins
April 14, 2014

We have not been here in a very long time, maybe it's time to change that. The plays are high quality and well performed. We enjoyed this performance of Mary Poppins.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Mary Poppins was GREAT
April 14, 2014

The recent production of Mary Poppins was fantastic from the sets to the actors and actresses. We throughly enjoyed the production!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Improv
March 17, 2014

I have seen a couple Improv shows here and have really enjoyed them. There is a small concession area with munchies and drinks. Before or after the show you can walk down into the Lee Pavillion which has benches, plants, and a waterfall.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Wonderful shows
March 04, 2014

I been lucky to attend a few shows and have enjoyed every moment. I always leave feeling that the night out was well worth it. This place has shows for every age and it's a beautiful place.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
First time at citadel theater
February 22, 2014

Went to see the play Clybourne Park. The actors were great in this play and we had an enjoyable evening. The ticketing and everything went well.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
The Heart of The City's Arts
February 06, 2014

The Citadel Theatre is not 1 but a gaggle of theatres, from classroms to Broadway productions, films, and local drama workshops in the Maclab, Shoctor and Rice Theatres, Zeidler Hall, the Tucker Amphitheatre and the theatre school, the latter serving kids and adults. There is a lovely restaurant with surprisingly good food for its captive audience, and a coffee shop... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great Place to see a show
January 30, 2014

Always great performances going on at this place, most sell out quickly if you go on the weekend, highly recommended, make sure you get your drink tickets ahead of time, the lineups are long for the intermission, and you don't always have time to finish your drinks and hit the bathroom.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Absolutely in love with a play
December 26, 2013

We watched the Christmas Carol play. We loved it!! Definitely recommending this theatre to visit. The actors were incredible! We will go to other plays for sure

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great theatre, excellent show
December 22, 2013

The theatre is shaped in such a way that every seat offers an excellent view of the stage. Ticket prices are very reasonable, too.
It was my first visit to the Citadel and I saw A Christmas Carol. I was completely blown away by the beautiful sets and incredible acting! I will definitely return for future shows!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Always a great night out
December 17, 2013

I try to attend several plays and events there each year. The price is always reasonable and the talent is always phenomenal. The staff are friendly and helpful and no matter where you sit, the show is always great!!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great performance from a local pianist
November 28, 2013

Local performer Ted Dykstra showed off his stuff at the wonderful Citadel Theatre in his production, 2 Pianos,4 Hands.He has grown a lot since his days growing up in nearby St. Albert.The piano playing of both performers was excellent. Edmonton has a great arts community and the Citadel helps keep the arts world class.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Never a bad seat and convenient online ticket purchase
November 24, 2013

I was lucky enough to get tickets to the final performance of 2 Pianos 4 Hands. I had no idea beforehand how many years and performances this show has been going on and a Canadian production to boot! How great that the creators and performers chose Edmonton to close it out. The show itself was well performed and funny. In... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great plays
November 24, 2013

Very nice set-up. They always have a great line up of plays for the whole family. Centrally located and accessible. Lack of parking though.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Fun & uplifting
November 24, 2013

The production we saw was called FOUR HANS TWO PIANOS. It was interesting to watch the switchback in time from boyhood to manhood. The actors portrayed their roles with excellence & enthusiasm. Both actors accomplished pianists and the pieces played were wonderful. Funny for sure!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
beautiful oasis
October 14, 2013

the Citadel is a favourite place in a city downtown that is concrete and dirt and noise ( as downtowns are wont to be). the Citadel has a waterfall cascading down from a "lake" surrounded by vegetation in a park setting that is accessible by elevator or stairs. On the main floor there is an oasis with water course, giant... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great building
September 10, 2013

Beautiful building and great theatre locations. Also on sight coffee and nice bistro. Theatres well appointed.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Awesome Venue
September 08, 2013

I was just here for the CCMAS and it was a perfect venue. Large area with many theatres inside. Even a partial botanical garden. Box office was very helpful as well.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Lovely Citadel Theatre
July 14, 2013

I've seen plays, movie screenings, and live dance performances here. Always something interesting to see at the Citadel.
The lobby has a Second Cup (heck yes!!!!), so I often will get one either before the show, or during intermission.
The atrium/garden area is really neat to walk around, and you'll often see a bridal party in there, taking photos with... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
beautiful
June 15, 2013

truly enjoyed the harmonic orchestra show they did there years back...this review is super late coz its been years since ive been there, but i thought I would still review it coz i had a great experience here.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Always Great Dramatic Performances
May 15, 2013

Yes, Edmonton has great drama and music! Their performances of Sound of Music were sell outs! That alone should tell you. No matter what the performance, it is always worth attending. Book ahead or you might be disappointed in lack of seats.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great local theatre
May 08, 2013

What can I say, great local theatre, located downtown adjacent to Churchill square and Library. Seats are comfy and the staff are friendly.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Oasis of quality
April 27, 2013

This is one of Edmonton's cultural gems - a great place to gravitate to if you're looking for a congenial evening of food and entertainment: a cluster of excellent performing spaces, always something interesting, entertaining or provocative on offer, and plenty of attractive room to meet, greet and eat.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Edmonton's major drama facility
April 21, 2013

We saw "A Christmas Carol" which was in an intimate setting. Costumes and sets were fabulous, as was the production.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Variety
April 04, 2013

Whether it's vintage drama, newer stuff or comedy improv, this theatre has it all. Atrium and Restaurant top it off.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great facility
April 01, 2013

Through the years I've been to all sorts of productions at the Citadel. Not a bad seat in any of the theatres. Easy underground parking (although leaving can take some time) or easy access from the LRT or buses.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Ride the Cyclone
February 24, 2013

This play was in the smaller downstairs theater. Stellar performances by a cast of six 'students' in an ensemble piece, energetic, amusing and poignant. At times, laugh out loud funny. Simple and effective staging. Quality music, quality voices and acting.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Beautiful
February 01, 2013

Wonderful auditorium, I've been there for a graduation ceremony as well as plays and a ukranian dance festival. It's a beautifully designed building with lots to offer and lovely seating.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
dream on
December 27, 2012

don't need broadway in New York, when Edmonton has such talented actors, actresses. Never disappointed seating has never been bad good seating everywhere. People doing what they like to do entertainig and putting smiles on peoples faces. Love it

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
excellent live theatre
December 10, 2012

the selection of plays offers something for everyone. The Citadel's revamped restaurant offers a good selection, but it is busy so arrive in time or order light. In the theatre, acoustics are very good in each of the three and viewing is also very good

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
So many choices
December 10, 2012

The Citadel is a hub of activity from Rapid Fire Theatre to the Citadel productions in each of the theatres. There are choices for every taste and budget. Go out for a romantic evening or take the whole family, there is something for everyone. Located close to many restaurants and hotels in the downtown core. Underground parking is a bonus!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Beautiful theatre
November 28, 2012

I went to the comedy sports at the Citadel and luckily arrived early enough to explore. Amazing architecture throughout the building. The different styles are really fun to walk through.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Cozy Art Centre
November 14, 2012

Saw a lot of shows are the Citadel. The location is not too far china town. There are a lot of things to see underground downtown, where the arena is located.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
The Citadel Is Unbelieveable
November 04, 2012

I grew up goint to the Citadel not only as an audience member, but as an actor. The shows are not only amazing, the classes at the Foote Theatre School are fabulous! It's my second home.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Strong plays, consistant entertainment
September 25, 2012

We have been regular season ticket holders for over 30 years and love going to the Citadel. Bob Baker and his staff and acting company have given us many hours of entertainment.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
An exotic atmosphere and very good theatre
September 13, 2012

The huge atrium is an amazing spot to visit downtown on a bitter, winter evening. Multiple performance spaces. Edmonton's main theatre space.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Really good here
August 25, 2012

We saw john edwards at this place and it was very good well worth the money.I would recamend it to anyone coming to edmonton to see a shoe ,its easy to find parking and is a great place to see.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
It's just for live theatre, I love this place
July 07, 2012

They have a wide variety of performances here, they have a breathtaking waterfall and green area (and a Second Cup). I love going here and I think I probably come here a minimum two times a year for performances.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Super movie
June 29, 2012

The movie, Brave, in 3d was excellent!!
Had a bit of trouble with the purchasing machines in the lobby.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Depends on the show
June 28, 2012

Very good acting, but over half the shows each season are just not entertaining. Not a season ticket holder anymore because we have walked away from many plays wondering why we went. The Christmas Carol is excellent, though. The well known plays are very much worth the time and money. Choose wisely. The venue is starting to show its age.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Pick your Play
May 27, 2012

great seating and selection of entertainment year-round

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great show
April 23, 2012

The show was fantastic and the venue was perfect. The volunteers that worked the doors are friendly and accommodating.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
A Midsummer Nights Dream
April 15, 2012

Saw A Midsummer Nights Dream tonight. The cast was amazing. I always look to see how they did Puck when I go. Puck in this production was funny and agile and impish but loads of fun. The entire cast made this a lot of fun. Everyone was laughing (as they should have) and clearly enjoying the performance. Well acted. Well... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Always such great entertainment
March 02, 2012

We have made "A Christmas Carol" a family annual traditon at Christmas. We like the family package - prices are high but are well worth it for families that enjoy good entertainment. The theatres are a nice size - we are never worried about what seats we get, but the middle of the theatre is better. The chairs and theatres... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
A Gem in Downtown Edmonton
February 20, 2012

We were season's ticket holders for 25 years and have only quit because we moved out of Edmonton. This theatre consistently puts on absolute winners in theatre productions. In 25 years, we probably only walked out on 5 performances. Miss it very much!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Go see
January 26, 2012

Lots of wonderful plays happening here all of the time. Really neat building too.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great shows and a nice place
January 13, 2012

I was married here... Great theatre, clean, dining in the building and a relaxing p,ace with indoor gardens. A family tradition is to see the Christmas carol. Lovely place.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Not a bad seat in the house
January 11, 2012

Have been to a "Christmas Carol" 3 times. I really enjoyed the performance, but I think previous years were better than this year.....they changed the play and there was less singing. The costumes and actors are really good....can't go wrong with this play. Also went to a seminar at the Citadel, and there is not a bad seat in the... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
a beautiful piece of architecture
December 27, 2011

Even if you don't see a play or performance, walk through the atrium and feel the humidity and watch the plants grow in the unbelieveable sunlight. Perhaps orange is no longer a cool color, perhaps copper would be a better idea, but it still a great place to people watch, take indoor photos and get out of the cold.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Great plays, nice staff
December 27, 2011

The staff here is always incredibly nice. I haven't seen a play at The Citadel that I didn't enjoy. Comfortable atmosphere and a great place for a night out.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

4.5 star rating
Currently plays in a comfortable setting
December 25, 2011

Multiple theaters put on current well know plays and the Rice theatre puts on lesser know plays that are very good. There is a restaurant and bar in the venue as well as a beautiful tropical garden area. The venue is connected under ground to both parking, local hotels, City Hall and the LRT (subway).

Brought to you by tripadvisor

Business Description from the Web
English
February 28, 2014

With its shining facade, The Citadel Theatre is one of the most noticeable structures in the heart of downtown Edmonton. With three theaters and a number of multi-purpose rooms available for rental, the Citadel Theatre is a popular destination for a wide range of audiences, hosting many different types of events.

Brought to you by wcities

January 14, 2014

Puts on a variety of plays and performances to suit all tastes.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

May 21, 2012

Edmonton's premier venue for live theatre. The Citadel Theatre is located in the heart of downtown Edmonton in the Arts District and houses five performing spaces: Shoctor Theatre, Maclab Theatre, Rice Theatre, Tucker Amphitheatre and Zeidler Hall

Brought to you by hotfrog

April 08, 2011

Located in the heart of downtown, the Citadel Theatre is hard to miss. It is a shining building of glass with a striking central block. There are three theaters within, all catering to various kinds of theatricals and events along with three multifunctional rooms available for rental. Visit website for the list of events.

Brought to you by wcitiesca

All Rights Reserved © 2008-2020 Weblocal.ca