Weblocal.ca

Search

business name, category, key word, etc.
Locations region, city or postal code for better results
No recent locations
Find local businesses, rate your experiences, and share with the community
Love It Hate It
2 0
popup tail
3.5 stars 56 reviews

Chianti Cafe & Restaurant

« Back

1438 17 Ave SW
Calgary, AB  T2T 0C8

(403) 229-1600

Get Directions
Start from:

What the community has to say about Chianti Cafe & Restaurant

Add your review
Reviews [3]
English
3.5 star rating
Francy Canada October 09, 2010
The original Chianti's has history and charm

You gotta like this place. Been around for years. Definitely that "cafe" enviro with checkered table cloths and all. The kitchen is fast and hot and good sized servings. It's fun Italian with good food as has been for decades.

3.5 star rating
Maddy Calgary October 02, 2010
Home-style meal

Fine if you're looking for a hearty, simple home-style pasta dinner at a pretty reasonable price, but not exceptional otherwise.

3.5 star rating
Crispe Calgary September 20, 2010
so boring

the food here is boring, like making spaghetti at home. the servers are too busy to be friendly, so i give it one star.

Other Reviews from the web
English
3.5 star rating
Just basic so-so food
August 05, 2014

We were in town and met some friends here for dinner one night. Sad to say, but the only good thing about the meal was the bottle of wine, and that was $52.00. This is not the Chianti of years ago. Seems it has slipped down the food chain. Our meal had no taste or flavour. It almost seemed to... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
One of my favorite places in Calgary
August 01, 2014

Great foods, great price, great Service. I think of it on par with olive garden but a fraction of the price and a more home made feel. Great experience and service in a packed restaurant.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Ok. Just ok
July 23, 2014

On a visit to Calgary a few weeks ago, we took our family dinner as our treat to thank them for their hospitality. The restaurant was crazy busy, and we found out later that Sunday nights was pasta night where all pastas were cheap. But we had reservations so we were fine.
First impressions was that it was a cozy,... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Very good food
December 04, 2013

Nice Italian restaurant, friendly service, abit dark in décor but has a cosy feel. If you like Italian you wont be disappointed. Will probably go back here on my next trip to Calgary/Edmonton. It's on a main street and pretty easy to find. Recommend to anyone who wants a reasonably priced Italian meal, with quick service.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Great Food and Service
June 25, 2013

Dinner on Sunday June 23rd! Excellent service and food, server was helpful, but not pushy, answered our questions and provided suggestions to address special diet issues.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Good food and good service
June 10, 2013

Great place for pasta and a glass of wine. Reasonable prices. We frequent the one in the northwest and have never been disappointed. Even the red house wine is acceptable. Not and huge wine list but serves the purpose. Never had to send a meal back and have been there more than 20 times.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Mediocre food
June 08, 2013

So-so food, so-so service, so-so ambiance.
This is an OK place for a no-special occasion meal, but not a place that I would ever go to celebrate an event. The food is really mediocre - not very fresh, not especially flavourful and certainly not inspired.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Ombience
May 28, 2013

Not the nicest place to eat.Food not that tasty.Not impressed. Waited quite awhile too.Waiter tried his best to keep you occupied without disappointment.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Very fast service and good food
May 20, 2013

Enjoyed a nice Italian meal- very delicious food and very fast service. The lasagna was especially good!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
A quick lunch...but fancy
May 10, 2013

Our group attended here for lunch during our stay. The staff was quick to provide friendly service, and the selection was broad. They give a basket of fresh rolls to start, and refill once the bread is gone! The pasta/bread meals taste as good as they look. Price matched quality...a great lunch!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Pasta, pasta, pasta
May 07, 2013

Good Italian menu, relaxed atmosphere. The Macleod Trail location has just had a major renovation. The 'all-you-can-eat' pasta nights are a great deal, but bring a big appetite!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
A unique dining experience
April 05, 2013

Another one of my spontaneous trips landed me in Chianti's Restaurant on this occasion. The experience met and went beyond expectations.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Never disappoints
April 01, 2013

When I lived in Edmonton, this was a popular eating spot. Still can get my favorite spinach salad and fettuccine Chianti. Love the crusty buns. Great place for lunch or dinner.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
just saying but
March 20, 2013

If its an Italian restaurant and all you hear is people speaking (presumably) chinese at the top of their lungs, and I get my pasta that is STORE BOUGHT pasta with the smallest amount of sauce and one or two chunks of chicken for 11.99???? I would not pay their special "8.99" pasta special. It lacks taste, spice, and real... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Reliable Chianti's
March 14, 2013

Food is great and their pasta is fantastic. The food is consistently good and the service is quite amazing.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
LOVE Chianti's
February 20, 2013

Well I can honestly say we go to Chianti's in Willowpark about 6 times a month. It is great to be a regular, the food is always great, great prices, great wait staff, they have been there for years. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, great new renovations at Willowpark.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Sloooow service
February 17, 2013

When I say slow I mean it, twenty five minutes to get a drink, fourty-five minutes to get dinner, twenty more for them to offer the dessert menu and thirty more to take the order. Food was good not great and they have some many tables jammed in your practically eating with strangers.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Great food
January 23, 2013

One of our favourites. The place is packed - always! Make a reservation, then be on time. The food is fresh, well cooked and served in a reasonable time. The service is brisk but that's fine, I'm not there to chat with a server. The value is outstanding.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Always a great time
January 12, 2013

Love the home-like atmosphere. Great for families, excellent variety of food, and prices won't break the bank. Always busy so reservations are recommended. One of our favorites.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Pasta - any size and many choices
January 01, 2013

Like being able to order a smaller size meal, and the daily specials are always interesting. They have great veal choices for those that don't want pasta.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Great Pasta Place
November 26, 2012

They have the best Tortellini Alla Panna I have found. I even went to Italy and tried it there....still prefer Chianti's! How do I get my hands on their sauce???!!!!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Great food
November 04, 2012

We had the Italian Salad to start and it was large $10.99. Could have fed 4 people. I had Chianti Fettuccini - Prosciutto Ham and Mushrooms in Cream Sauce and my friend had Carciofi Diabloe - Spinach Fettuccini, Chicken, Artichokes, Red Peppers & Spinach in a Spicy Basil Cream Sauce. Both were excellent and hugh portions that we both brought... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
excellent food
October 05, 2012

we loved the food service at this place. nice Italian selections and very tasty. The place is located at 17th avenue and 14th street.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
A good choice for Italian food
August 12, 2012

I was able to get my pasta gluten free, and it was very good. I also had a delicious spinach salad, and they offer a nice wine list, as well.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Chianti Group Visit
August 03, 2012

Went as a group. Was okay. Wait staff was helpful but small plating... It's nice enough and close to hotel we were staying at so, proximately was good. I guess i'm spoiled in the pasta world.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Always a good meal in Calgary
July 10, 2012

Conveniently located in the NE of Calgary, an easy drive from the airport, this well priced Italian eatery is one of my Calgary traditions. I have been visiting various Chianti restaurants for over 20 years and have never been disappointed. This time I had gnocchi with pesto cream sauce and the boys had cheese ravioli. Tasty and filling!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
If you like chef boyardee or ragu in a can this is your place
July 03, 2012

I liked nothing about this pace. The spaghetti sauce was from a can and the pasta was catelli I swear. Don't waste your money when there are so many great restaurants in the city.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Excellent prices. Good food. Quick Service
June 28, 2012

Come here if you are low on cash and bring the entire family. Food always consistently good for the price, but not fining dining by any means.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Always great food
June 27, 2012

This is one of my favourite restaurants! I've tried several different dishes over the years and loved all of them.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Hooray they do 1/2 orders for older people
June 14, 2012

We were new in town and went and ate here. It was delicious. I had Cheese Ravioli Con Van. It was the best food I ate all week. The best part was they did a 1/2 order for me. I do not eat a lot. They have very good and a varried menu. The people are very nice also. I... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
great food
June 04, 2012

great service. Tonnes of choice. Manager came around asking if everything was okay. Food was good. Good prices. A great place to accomodate a few people or a lot of people.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Birthday Dinner
May 28, 2012

I chose this popular little Italian Eatery for my Birthday dinner. I ordered the seafood linguini and it was pretty good. It is always busy there so the atmosphere isn't the best. The Tortillini Ala Pana is delicious.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Blah experience
April 22, 2012

All four of us were disappointed in the food and in the service. The atmosphere is nice though.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Great every time
April 07, 2012

I am never disappointed when I come here. Just a good family restaurant with consistent quality. And very very affordable.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
A good touch of Italy
March 30, 2012

Very good food. Sensible portions. Quick service and a great atmosphere

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Good Food, Good Price
March 25, 2012

Good selection of pastas, 1/2 orders available for smaller appetites or so you can have an appitizer and dessert.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
If you want quick and not so good
March 15, 2012

Chianti's has changed since the 80's. Food quality has suffered

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
History
March 03, 2012

Its always been a meeting place for all ages and styles for many years. Continues to deliver. Simply deliver quality food.
Try it! It is good, not amazing but good.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Always great
February 27, 2012

Been here many times; always good food and good service. Try going for lunch - good lunch choices at a great price point - and a nice amount of food - not too much!

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
The one in NW (Crowfoot) has better service
February 27, 2012

Been here a few times, the presentation could use some sprucing up, and food is competent but uninspired.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
this is italian
February 18, 2012

Very cheap. I guess you get what you pay for. Next time I go out for italian food I will spend a few dollars more somewhere else and get something resembling italian food.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Simple but nice enough
February 10, 2012

Chianti is located in an area dominated by chain restaurants. It looks inviting from the outside so we decided to try it.
The inside is a little odd: plastic table cloths and very cheap cutlery and crockery give you the first hint that this is not fine dining.
The service was good and fast, and the food was surprisingly good!... more

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Good Eats
February 06, 2012

Romantic, concistent quality, never leave hungry. I started eating there years ago and still can count on a good meal if I drop in today. Not a lot of places offer that concistency.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Chiant's
February 01, 2012

OK Italian food; nice place to meet friends. Its middle of the road Italian so if you like pasta etc. its nice.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Pretty good food but not worth lining up for
January 31, 2012

Pretty good food but not worth lining up for. Good atmosphere.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Always great food
January 18, 2012

Great Italian food. Always busy. Make a reservation. They'll adjust items on the
menu or will sometimes make other dishes if you ask. There are
4 or so in Calgary. My favourite is in Willow Park.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
A perennial favourite
January 12, 2012

No smoke a mirrors here folks, cheap and cheerful.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Ho Hum
January 04, 2012

I have never liked the atmosphere @ Chianti - the food isn't bad but not good enough to get me to go back.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Mmmmm Good
January 01, 2012

Excellent food, great service, you can't go wrong eating here.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

3.5 star rating
Average Italian
November 30, 2011

I have found that this restaurant has been going down in qualityn over the years. Lots of times the sauces are pastey and the pasta overdone. Good quantity and price but average quality.

Brought to you by tripadvisor

Awesome
May 19, 2008

Great food, great place!!!! went with 2 other friends, heard pasta is the really good, and actually they are good. every calgarian or visitor should try. by the way, pasta is only $7.99 on Monday, Tuesday and Sunday.

Brought to you by yahootravelca

3.5 star rating
Ahh Bella!
December 30, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful dinner last night at the 32nd Avenue NE Chianti. My Supremo Fettucine was out of this world very creamy, perfectly seasoned and the scallops and salmon cooked just right. Pasta at Chianti is truly the best and might I say the spinach salad is to die for. We had a wonderful dessert pears simmered in red wine served over vanilla ice-cream, we cant wait to... more

Brought to you by yahootravelca

3.5 star rating
February 19, 2001

Good, somewhat creative Italian food. I have never had anything there to complain about, but I would only go there on Monday or Tuesday when pasta is $5.95. The food and the portions are not worth the regular $10-$12 dollar price.

Brought to you by dinecomca

3.5 star rating
Chianti Cafe
September 29, 2000

Wonderful Italian pasta specialties, a nice selection of wines to accompany and an ecclectic atmosphere combine to make this a great choice. The Chianti Cafe is unique and well worth a visit. In addition to a great menu, we always notice the difference in the staff when we are in a university city and the Chianti is no exception -- they have some excellent servers. This is a great dining... more

Brought to you by igougo

Business Description from the Web
English
July 16, 2013

Chianti Cafe & Restaurant offers these services: restaurant.

Brought to you by ourbis

May 09, 2011

This has long been a local favorite of diners looking for a funky Mediterranean setting and affordable but tasty Italian dishes. The emphasis is on fresh pastas and veal. With as many tables as possible squeezed into a tight room, this is a bustling but fun café experience. Diners can order from a seemingly endless list of full or half-portion pasta dishes, or from chalkboards offering daily... more

Brought to you by wcitiesca

November 29, 2008

This has long been a local favourite of diners looking for a funky Mediterranean setting and affordable but tasty Italian dishes. The emphasis is on fresh pastas and veal. With as many tables as possible squeezed into a tight room, this is a bustling but fun cafe experience. Diners can order from a seemingly endless list of full or half-portion pasta dishes, or from chalkboards offering daily... more

Brought to you by yahootravelca

September 29, 2008

Homemade pastas, light-as-air and cooked to perfection, are the forte at this restaurant. The menu itself breaks them down into categories, helping to lessen the agony of choice. Of course, each category has a multitude of options, so it's still a difficult matter of deciding. But with luscious cream and marinara sauces, how can you go wrong? If you choose to avoid the issue altogether, there's... more

Brought to you by 10bestca

All Rights Reserved © 2008-2021 Weblocal.ca